Posted by: Glenn Pettit | June 10, 2010

What do a Million-Dollar Bill and a Post-It Note have in common?

I found a million-dollar bill today. No, really! It was folded up and wedged into the end of a railing in front of my shop. On the front is the usual portrait of a US President–Rutherford B. Hayes–and the “1,000,000” and even a serial number–JS 2102COR135 G. Do you get it? James 2:10 and 2 Corinthians 13:5.


James 2:10
For whoever shall keep the whole law, and yet stumble in one point, he is guilty of all.

2 Corinthians 13:5
Examine yourselves as to whether you are in the faith. Test yourselves. Do you not know yourselves, that Jesus Christ is in you?–unless indeed you are disqualified.

On the back, on either side of a picture of George Washington crossing the Delaware, there was a short message that started and ended like this:

“The million-dollar question: Will you go to heaven when you die? …
Please, repent (turn from sin) today and trust alone in Jesus, and God will grant you the gift of everlasting life. Then read your Bible daily and obey it.”

I think it’s interesting that I find these things in my store now and then. I can’t imagine how many other shops around a mall like ours might get these tucked in amongst the shoes and purses and CDs and jewelry and such. And I wonder what people do with them when they find them? I keep them. I find them about every other month in my shop, and I have a nice little pile of them. One is a little booklet with a Smiley Face on the front. Another is a straightforward “Is this heaven?” with a picture of a farm on it. (In case you missed the reference, it’s a line from the movie “Field of Dreams.”) But one still stands out as my favorite.

On a 2-inch-square light blue Post-It note, written in yellow pencil was this:

Ask God to search your heart and show you how to serve him!

I found it stuck to a glass shelf next to some figurines, and of all the tracts and messages I have found, I still consider that to be the one that speaks to me every day. It is like the questions I ask God every day as I write:

  • How can I serve You today, Lord God, through my writing?
  • What do You want me to say about Your Word that will edify the readers?
  • What problem do You want me to address through the verses You have led me to today?

I ask Him that every morning before I start to write. If I don’t ask those questions and WAIT for the answers, then I will start writing blindly, and quite likely, half an hour later I will end up scrapping whatever I have written. I find I MUST ask God how I can serve Him each day, or else I am writing nonsense. I write for HIM–not for me, not for my friends and relatives, not for the five fans of my blog, not for posterity when I am a best-selling author. I write for God. That is how I serve Him every day.

All the tracts I find or that are handed to me by the occasional evangelist, those are all well and good. I never throw them away, nor will I refuse them. I sometimes keep them or, as often happens, hand them off to a co-worker or a friend, or perhaps leave them at my church so others can find them and hand them out. The point is that someone else sat down and wrote those things. They searched their hearts and God told them to write. That is exactly what I do: write in the service of my God. I may not be handing out million-dollar bills, but I believe I am serving God. So now it’s your turn:

Ask God to search your heart and show you how to serve Him!

Responses

  1. Discipline! I rather doubt many people, including myself, wake up in the wee hours of the early morning and present to the Lord such direct questions as you do. Truly a divine appointment each morning as He prepares your heart, soul, and mind to write. My prayer for you is one of strength and for endurance as you run this race, because many will be blessed by your endeavor–which is really His. May joy always abound in your journey and may you always find the joy of the Lord to be your strength! :)

  2. Is this money real or fake? What is the value of this money?

    • As much as I wish I could find a million dollars so easily, and as realistic as this bill looks, it is fake. It is simply a cleverly-designed Bible tract urging people to act now and repent and believe in Jesus Christ, in order that they may receive treasure in heaven rather than worrying about treasure on earth.

      • It really looks real. I had to search and see if it was real :)

  3. I found a bill just like this one,

    • i just foung one at the hospital

  4. i found money just like this one than i went to bank. The ladie was there told me that its NOT REAL but i didn’t believe her cuz when she sees it she got scared and her voice changed so i think it might be A REAL BILL

    • If she was scared, it was because she felt convicted of her sin and suddenly realized her need for repentance!

  5. So this is a real million dolllars or no I wanna know can u plz tell me

    • First of all, I don’t mean to sound facetious, but you should REALLY read my article here. It should be abundantly clear this is NOT a real bill.

      Second, the largest US currency is the $10,000 bill, which is rarely used for anything. The $1,000 bill is far more common.

      And finally, a little bit of common sense would tell us that a dollar bill with Scripture on the back would not be allowed under the US Constitution’s First Amendment.

      I guess that ought to answer your question.

  6. My Husband and I found one of these while cleaning out my Mother-in-law’s house. I know that it is not real, however, is it worth anything to collectors?

  7. This is a real Million dollar Bill cuz all Arabic business man use this kind of money to buy petrol so this is a real Petrodollar!!
    I am not joking but it’s real and it depend on its age its worth
    here in madagascar I’ve sold one of this at 100000$ worth.I’m really serious

  8. After this comment, I am closing comments on this post. Why? Because, sad to say, people aren’t reading the essay that I wrote about this so-called “Million-Dollar Bill.”

    The true value of this quirky bill is not that it in its rarity (it is not rare at all) nor in its face value (it is fake). The true value is in what is written on this bill:

    “The million-dollar question: Will you go to heaven when you die? …
    Please, repent (turn from sin) today and trust alone in Jesus, and God will grant you the gift of everlasting life. Then read your Bible daily and obey it.”

    I don’t mean to sound mean or disparaging, but if you can’t take the time to read what I have written above, if you can’t understand that this bill is simply an unusual evangelistic tool, or if all you want is to find some way to make money off of this printed piece of paper, then all I can do is pray for you. And so I shall.


Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

